lichess.org
Donate

Discrepancy in rating between chess sites, a cheating phenomenon?

I enjoy playing here a lot. I have noticed that games are a lot more "natural" here, with even 2100 players blundering a pawn or allowing a mate in one. Even GMs blunder.
It has been a long while since I have played on chess.com, icc, and the chessbase site.
On the other sites, I struggle to beat 1500 players. Apparently, they are excellent endgame players and understand deep positional ideas.
I have been playing on and off for more than 20 years, and at my highest, I was about 2000 OTB.
Lately I have been studying a lot, especially endgames. I KNOW that I am much stronger now, but since I have not played OTB for a while, I cannot validate it.
In the past month playing here, I got up to about 2070. Which sounds pretty realistic. My opponents are strong but they are not perfect, especially in 5 minutes and 10 minute games (I dont play bullet).
In those sites it is very hard to get past 1900 ( in one of those sites my blitz is at 1600!).
I would assume that if my chess strength is the same, the results should be similar.
But they are not.
IMHO there is a LOT of cheating, especially on the paid sites.
There it is common for 1400 players to understand deep opening theory and blitz out the moves.
Here it is a lot more normal, as one would see on OTB situations.
I think I have found the right place to play!
<Comment deleted by user>
No idea honestly. I just played my old friend who plays almost exclusively on chess.com now and I beat him 3x in a row.

But I do think chess.com is seen as the more "official" chess site in terms of attracting the most verified, over-the-board style players. ex: club players

I do agree play here is very natural, which I actually find kind of funny. I find myself struggling against 1600 - 1800 players in bullet more than I do players my own rating. The amount of blundering tactically at this level is insane, even though strategy is much better.