lichess.org
Donate

ADDICTED to chess: what to do?

I am a father of two girls and have many life goals. I am 42. At 41, after years of trying desperately to ignore chess (because I know I love the game and I can get crazy addicted), I started playing online. Just a few games a day, I told myself at first... However, I have spend around 2 to 4 hours each day for a full year now... It's too much. Its not like I am good at chess. I just love the game. But in the meantime, I am spending way too much time on it.

Now, please understand, answers like "just stop" or "try to allocate just one hour" as tips are not helpful to me. I tried and failed. What I want to know is tactics to decrease the playing time or make me stop completely due to some magic tip or formula. Chess is, for me, a perfect distraction from real life. An escape if you will. That is not cool, I know. Anyway, I am greatful for any tips or tricks on this issue. Thank you in advance!
If you play on an iPhone (i'm not sure about androids but there is probably a similar feature), get your wife to create one of those "Restriction" PINs. Then have your wife enable the "Screen Time" Feature and limit the amount of time you can play on chess apps to a low amount say 20minutes/day.
As someone who has battled with addiction myself, its all about your mindset towards the stimulant. For example, if you tell yourself chess is your only way of escaping the difficulties of the real world then it will be virtually impossible to quit. You need to make sure you think of it as nothing more than the game that it is. If that fails, then talk to someone you trust to try and make sure that you arent playing it too much, i.g. your wife, best friend etc. I wish you the best.
If that fails, I've heard using chess.com is quite the good deterrent from playing lots of chess.